Academic League celebrates successful season

The elementary academic season went down to the buzzer, and for several teams ended ties, as students competed to win top bragging rights in the county.

The Knox County Academic League celebrated their success this fall during an awards ceremony held on Friday, December 9.  Players, MVPs, and overall top teams were recognized during the awards program hosted by the Knox County Public Schools.  The league includes all KCPS elementary schools and Barbourville Independent.

Photos from the Academic League Awards

Top varsity teams in the county ended their season in a four way tie for first place, with Barbourville, G.R. Hampton, Lay, and Lynn Camp all sharing top honors.  The junior varsity overall team rankings were first place Barbourville, second place G.R. Hampton, and a three way tie for third between Central Elementary, Dewitt, and Flat Lick.  Rookie rankings were first place Jesse D. Lay, second place Girdler, and third place Barbourville Elementary.

The most valuable players for teams and the entire league were also recognized.  Overall league MVPs were:

Varsity – Courtney McRight, first place (G.R. Hampton), Kaylee Bow, second (Jesse D. Lay), Shanna Lewis, third (Lynn Camp), and Gavin Gibbs, fourth (Barbourville).

Junior Varsity – Samuel Moore, first place (Barbourville), Paige Sharp, second (Flat Lick), Ethan Saylor, third (Dewitt), and Kymmy Eversole, fourth (G.R. Hampton).

Rookies – R.J. Osborne, first place (Jesse D. Lay), Aston Moster, second (Girdler), Hanna Patterson, third (Central Elementary), and Austin Partin, fourth (Lynn Camp).

Team MVPs were:

Varsity – Gavin Gibbs (Barbourville), T.J. Mills (Central Elementary), Alexis Mills (Dewitt), Jacob Brown (Flat Lick), Bradley Mills (Girdler), Courtney McRight (G.R. Hampton), Kaylee Bow (Jesse D. Lay), and Shanna Lewis (Lynn Camp).

Junior Varsity – Samuel Moore (Barbourville), Cayden Collins (Central Elementary), Ethan Saylor (Dewitt), Paige Sharp (Flat Lick), Gavin Chadwell (Girdler), Kimmy Eversole (G.R. Hampton), Riley Broughton (Jesse D. Lay), and Caleb Farmer (Lynn Camp).

Rookies – Riley Corey (Barbourville), Hanna Patterson (Central Elementary), Abby Mills (Dewitt), Zach Liford (Flat Lick), Ashton Moser (Girdler), Presley Reeves (G.R. Hampton), R.J. Osborne (Jesse D. Lay), and Austin Partin (Lynn Camp).

Photos from the event are available in the KCPS Photo Gallery

Posted on December 10, 2016