Knox County Art Awards held

The county’s best artwork will soon be on display as part of the GFWC KY Barbourville Junior Woman’s Study Club’s annual Knox County Art Show.

The awards program for the presentation of first, second, third and honorable mention for each grade category and best of show was held on Monday evening, March 20, at the First United Methodist Church at 6:00 pm. A small reception followed the presentation of awards in the fellowship hall of the church.

“We have some fabulous entries as you will see by the number of honorable mentions awarded,” said Rita Wood, art contest committee chair and FRYSC coordinator at Girdler Elementary.  “We had over 165 entries which were judged.”

Best of show winners will be displayed in the Commercial Bank’s main lobby the week following the awards.



HM    Kayleigh Boles & Colton Wagers – Dewitt, Elizabeth Laws – Lynn Camp
3rd      Connor Brown – Dewitt
2nd      Levi Burnette – Lynn Camp
1st       Dylan McKeehan – Lynn Camp

HM    Tehya Hubbard – Central, Eli Wagers – Barbourville, Masyn Elam – Flat Lick, Sadie Melton – Lynn Camp
3rd      Lillian Jackson – GR Hampton
2nd      Olivia Hale– GR Hampton
1st       Kyla Sibert – GR Hampton

First Grade:
HM    Lauren Messer – Barbourville, Miranda Riley & Oriana Lomio – GR Hampton, Freddie Smith – Dewitt
3rd      DJ Davis – GR Hampton
2nd      Sadie Hoffman – Barbourville
1st       Journey Jordan – Barbourville

Second Grade:
HM    Nadia Fee – GR Hampton, Tessa Brock – Barbourville, Ethan Smith & Raelyn Gray – Central
3rd      Ada Grace Valentine – Barbourville
2nd      Lily Frazier – GR Hampton
1st       Gabriel Jackson – Dewitt

Third Grade:
HM    Justin Bingham – Dewitt, Katie Mills & Colt Cottrell – Lynn Camp, Jaden Broughton – Lay, Shalynn Edwards – GR Hampton
3rd      Trace Jordan– Dewitt
2nd      Emma Garrison – Girdler
1st       Bella Smallwood – Barbourville

Fourth Grade:
HM    Cambree Prewitt – Lynn Camp, John Cruz – Lay, Izzy Baker – Dewitt
3rd      Phoenix Hubbard – Central
2nd      Shiloh Patterson – Lay
1st       Chloe Lefevers – Barbourville

Fifth Grade:
HM     Anna Jo Carey & Nadia Smith – GR Hampton, Taylor Moren & Kihran McFerrin – Central, Layla Bowling – Flat Lick, Emma Jordan – Lay
3rd       Selma Grahic – Lay
2nd       Dalton Helton – Lay
1st        Jonathan Mills – Central

Sixth Grade:
HM     Faith Collins & Jadyn Belile & Madalyn Russell – Central,  Emily Cooper – Girdler, Jimberly Sanner – Barbourville, Layla Gray – Flat Lick, Arabella Pennington – Lynn Camp
3rd       Melisa Grahic – Lay
2nd       Alex Smith – Lay
1st        Destiny Tye– Barbourville

Seventh Grade:
2nd       Lily Partin – Barbourville Middle School
1st        Emily Gray – Barbourville Middle School

Eighth Grade:
HM     Jared Cox – Lynn Camp Middle School
3rd       Chante Brown – Barbourville Middle School
2nd       Summer Disney – Disney Home School
1st        Lily Kate Hubbs – Barbourville Middle School

High School:  Drawing
1st        Roma Karna– Barbourville High School

High School: Painting
2nd       Summer Gray– Barbourville High School
1st        Briana Reynolds – Lynn Camp High School

2nd       Savannah Hoffman – Barbourville
1st        Gracie Soper – Barbourville


Chloe Lefevers (Barbourville Elementary) – PS THRU SIXTH
Lily Kate Hubbs (Barbourville Middle School) – MIDDLE/HIGH SCHOOL