Knox County’s youngest minds recognized as part of Academic League

Students pose for a photo after receiving awards at the Academic League ceremony.

The Knox County Academic League, consisting of all elementary schools in Knox County including Barbourville Independent, celebrated their accomplishments on Thursday evening, January 9, 2020 at Conway Boatman Chapel.

League coordinator Jennifer Carey echoed praises to the students and their coaches for making this season a competitive and fun extracurricular activity for the participants.  The league is made up of three levels of students at each school, rookies, junior varsity, and varsity.  Throughout the fall semester, they travel and host schools for a quick-recall style match where teams buzz in their answer to a variety of questions.

Winners in this year’s league include:

School League Placement Overall

1st Place- Central Elementary
1st Place- Jesse D. Lay Elementary
2nd Place- Flat Lick Elementary
2nd Place – GR Hampton Elementary

Junior Varsity
1st Place- Barbourville Elementary
2nd Place- GR Hampton Elementary
3rd Place- Central Elementary

1st Place- Central Elementary
2nd Place- Barbourville Elementary
3rd Place- Dewitt Elementary
3rd Place- GR Hampton Elementary

Individual Team MVP’s

Barbourville- Jaxon Minton
Central- Cash Collins
Dewitt- Colten Tate
Flat Lick- Grace Kennedy
Girdler-Emily Jordan
Hampton- Isaac Campbell
Lay- Ben Hembree
Lynn Camp- Caden Powers

Junior Varsity
Barbourville- Donavon Smith
Central- Allie Holstein
Dewitt- Jeremiah Burns
Flat Lick- Kai Senters
Girdler- Alyvia Merida
Hampton- Jace Baker
Lay- Grayson Burton
Lynn Camp- Max Carnes

Barbourville- Raegan Lawson
Central- Ethan Abner
Dewitt- Kashawn Robinson
Girdler- Caveni Teague
Hampton-Abi Riley
Lay- Ajdin Grahic
Lynn Camp- Lauren Partin

Overall League MVP’s

1st Place- Isaac Campbell- GR Hampton Elementary
2nd Place- Ben Hembree- Jesse D. Lay Elementary
3rd Place- Caden Powers- Lynn Camp Elementary

Junior Varsity
1st Place- Donavon Smith- Barbourville Elementary
2nd Place- Kai Senters- Flat Lick Elementary
2nd Place- Jace Baker- GR Hampton Elementary
3rd Place- Allie Holstein- Central Elementary

1st Place- Ethan Abner- Central Elementary
2nd Place- Raegan Lawson- Barbourville Elementary
3rd Place-Kashawn Robinson – Dewitt Elementary
3rd Place- Lauren Partin- Lynn Camp Elementary