Annual Spelling Bee hosted by Knox Schools

From no one spelling a word correctly in round five, to seven additional rounds of elimination, you can “believe” that the annual Knox County Spelling Bee was full of excitement again this year.

The event, held on Wednesday, February 8, featured the top two spellers from each elementary and middle school in Knox County.

In round twelve two students from Barbourville Independent emerged as the champion and runner-up.  Jacob Osborne, a sixth grader, correctly spelled “believe” earning him the first place title.  Runner up Paige Smith, an eighth grader, incorrectly spelled “populace” during the same round.

Prior to the runner-up and champion spell-off, Waylon Frazier, a fourth grade student at G.R. Hampton, earned the third place, second runner up, honors.  


“We were excited to once again host the Spelling Bee”, said coordinator Frank Shelton for the Knox County Public Schools.  “Today was all about the hard work and dedication of the students, from cram studying in the past twenty four hours to the commitment that they put forth at the school level to make it to the county bee.”

The Knox County Public Schools sponsor and host the event each year.  In addition, community partners Forcht Bank, Knox County Farm Bureau, and the GFWC Barbourville Junior Woman’s Study Club provide gifts for the students participating.

Osborne now advances as the Knox County winner to the Kentucky Derby Festival State Spelling Bee to be held March 11 in Louisville.

Participants in this year’s Spelling Bee included:

School Name First Place School Winner’s Name Second Place School Runner-Up’s Name
Barbourville Elem Jacob Osborne Megan Jordan
Barbourville Middle Paige Smith Miranda Smith (unable to attend)
Central Elem Jathen Blalock Camron Williams
Dewitt Abigail Mills Amanda Roark
Flat Lick Steven Partin Jaylynn Fain
Girdler Breauna Yates Tiana Nakonechny
Jesse D Lay Jayce Stewart Tyler Mills
Knox County Middle Jacob Barnard Andrew Sizemore
Lynn Camp Elem Shanna Lewis Brendan Oberman
Lynn Camp Middle Dylan Wells Abby Miller
GR Hampton Nick Sanders (unable to attend) Waylon Frazier (first runner up)

Jace Baker (second runner up)

Photos from the event are available in the KCPS Photo Gallery.

Posted on February 8, 2017